What is the difference between Windows Reset and System Restore in Windows?

Are you tired of facing different issues on your computer? Maybe malware messed up your computer, or Windows just slowed down over time, seemingly on its own.

Fortunately, there are two utilities built into Windows that can be helpful in this situation: Windows Reset and System Restore. But what is the exact difference between these two tools and how can they fix common Windows problems? Let’s find out.


What is the difference between System Restore and Windows Reset?

From fixing corrupt drivers in Windows to resolving malware infections, System Restore and Windows Reset can easily fix all major Windows issues. However, these two utilities have different ways of solving the problem.

System Restore works by undoing all changes and restoring your system to its last working state. This tool aims to fix problems by returning your PC “in time” to a time when the error did not exist. It’s a great way to repair file corruption or fix malware damage because it returns all your files to their pre-damaged state.


Resetting Windows, on the other hand, erases all custom settings and returns everything to the default configuration. It’s a good way to make sure you’re working again with a clean slate. It is often the “nuclear option” when nothing seems to have solved the problem.

What is System Restore and when to use it?

System Restore is an important Windows recovery utility that restores your PC to an earlier state. If something goes wrong with your computer, System Restore can restore it to a time when everything was working fine.

To better understand the functionality, you can think of System Restore as a “time travel” button that restores important files and system settings to the way they were when you created a restore point.

A restore point is a backup image of your computer at a given date and time. System Restore creates a restore point once a week containing crucial system files and the Windows Registry. If there is a problem installing an update or if there is data corruption, System Restore repairs the environment and undoes the changes saved in the restore point.


How to enable system restore

On many computers, System Restore is enabled only for the primary drive and not for others. While on other computers, System Restore is not enabled for any drives.

If you don’t want to lose your data, you should enable System Restore for at least your primary drive. But you can also enable it for other readers.

To enable System Restore for the primary drive, open the The start menutype Create a restore pointand press Walk in. Choose the main system drive and click Configure. Click it Enable system protection option, set the Disk space usage slider (indicates the amount of disk space you want to allocate for system protection) as needed, and then click OKAY.

How to create a restore point

As mentioned above, Windows automatically creates restore points every week. But you can also create them manually whenever you want.

To create a restore point, open the Start menu, type Create a restore point, and press Enter. Click it Create describe the restore point, then click Create.

How to Use System Restore

Now that you’ve enabled System Restore and created a restore point, it’s time to learn how to restore to the oldest restore point if your computer is having a problem.

  1. Open the System Properties tab again.
  2. Click it System Restauration button.
  3. Click it Next button on the home page.
  4. The next page will show the different restore points. Choose the desired restore point, click Nextso what Finish.
  5. Confirm your selection by clicking Yes at the displayed prompt.

The computer will now restart and begin the restore process. Once it is done, check if it fixed the issue you were facing or not.

The best thing about System Restore is that it automatically creates a restore point before starting the restore process. So, you can always undo the changes by following the steps above and choosing the new restore point.

What is Windows Reset and when to use it?

Windows Reset is another built-in utility that quickly restores Windows to its factory settings. This is the option of choice when the culprit is Windows related and all other fixes fail to fix the problem.

Whether you’re dealing with high disk usage or the computer has become much slower than before, resetting Windows is a lifesaver. It’s basically a magic bullet for all sorts of frustrating problems.

So when should you use Windows Reset? Performing Windows Reset will erase all installed apps and, in some situations, your data. Therefore, always consider resetting Windows as the last resort to fix a problem.

How to Perform a Windows Reset

As mentioned above, resetting Windows will reset all settings to their default values, and in some cases, it may also erase all personal data. So make sure to backup your data before going through the reset process.

  1. Open the Start menu, type Reset this PCand press Enter.
  2. Click on reset computer.
  3. In the next window, you will have the choice between two options: Keep my files Where Delete everything.
  4. The Keep my files option will erase everything from the system except your files such as documents and music. The Delete Everything option, on the other hand, will erase everything from the system, including your files and apps. According to your convenience, choose one of these options.
  5. You will now have to choose how you want to reinstall Windows. There are two ways: cloud download Where Local resettlement.
  6. Local reinstallation will reinstall Windows using your current system files. Although it saves you from downloading Windows from the Internet, it can also fail if the Windows installation is corrupted. On the other hand, cloud download will download a fresh copy of Windows from Microsoft official site. Again, choose any of these options as per your convenience.
  7. Then, follow the on-screen instructions to complete resetting your computer.


Decide Between System Restore and Windows Reset

Resetting Windows will permanently fix your problem, but to do so, it will erase all installed apps and custom settings. It can be really bad if you can’t stand losing app data. Therefore, when trying to fix a problem, you should first try to restore Windows before embarking on the reset process.

Comments are closed.